Club Notices

It is time to organise the annual Harriers Xmas bash!  It will take place at the Crown Hotel on Saturday 16th of December, dinner will be served at 19.30 and the bar will be open from 18.45.  For those who haven’t been before it’s a chance to celebrate the running year with a recap of the highlights and the presentation of various awards. You also get to see how well your club mates scrub up when not in running kit!

The cost is £32.50 per person to include 3 course meal, a half bottle of wine, tea, coffee and mince pies with a disco to follow.  You can sign up and pay at:

Once you get to the checkout you’ll be asked to add your menu choices, dietary requirements and any seating preferences you may have.  If you prefer, you can still forward your money and choices to me, but your place won’t be confirmed until payment is made.

As in previous years, we are hoping to put together a slide show to be played throughout the evening, something that showcases our running year. So, if anyone has any photos (good, bad or ugly) that you would like to share please forward to

We need to get all numbers and food choices confirmed with the hotel by 18th November and places are limited so please get signed up. It causes loads of extra work if you miss this deadline so be warned – I will make sure you’re on Santa’s naughty list if you do!!  The Menu options are as follow:


  • Trio of Melon – winter berries and Midori liquor (V, GF)
  • Haddock Fish Cake – tartar sauce and rocket salads
  • Chicken Liver and Mushroom Pate – brioche bread and fruit chutney

Main Course

  • Traditional Roast Turkey -pigs in blankets, apricot & sage stuffing served with homemade gravy
  • Baked Cod Fillet – dill, cucumber beurre Blanc (GF)
  • Roasted Pepper, Courgette and Aubergine Tian – baked with cheese and drizzled with tomato concasse (V, GF)
  • Pan Fried Pork Loin Steak – sage and apricot stuffing, cider cream sauce 


  • Bramley Apple Pie – mixed fruit compote (GF)
  • Dark Chocolate Brownie – with Chantilly cream and winter berries
  • Christmas Pudding – with brandy sauce

Social Sec/Santa’s little helper 

Change of Clubhouse

April 26, 2017

Thank you to all that came to Tuesday’s EGM.  For those who were unable to attend, the news is we are moving as of Tuesday the 2nd of May (i.e. next Tuesday)  to The Harrogate Squash and Fitness Centre off Hookstone Road. The postcode is HG2 8PN.

The Harrogate Squash and Fitness Centre has a gym, 4 squash courts, dance studio, a podiatrist, physio, male and female changing rooms, a large bar and meeting area and plenty of parking. They have fitness classes, boxing classes and are also home to the Cappuccino Cycling Club.

The centre is open from 6.30am to 9pm Monday – Friday and 8am – 8pm Saturday – Sunday. You will be able to gain access at any of these times, there is a loo on the ground floor and access to the upstairs bar. To gain access to the changing rooms you need to ring a bell and someone from the gym will let you in.  We will be issuing you with wristbands in the near future to identify you as a member of Harrogate Harriers.

Our agreement does not allow you to use the gym or squash courts, but the centre offers various free trial periods and a discounted membership is a possibility.

So I look forward to showing you all around next Tuesday and I hope you’ll agree that it is a move worth making.

Best Wishes


Registration is now open on the Harriers Web Collect portal for the annual Harrogate & District Summer Race League events.  This competitive but fun evening race series is open to ALL members.

The dates and locations are listed below however please check their new website here for more information –
  • HDSRL Race #1 – Harrogate (23rd May)
  • HDSRL Race #2 – Dragons (1st June)
  • HDSRL Race #3 – Wetherby (14th June)
  • HDSRL Race #4 – Knaresborough (20th June)
  • HDSRL Race #5 – Otley Norman Smith Handicap (6th July)

 About the League

  • The Harrogate District Summer Race League is a friendly league of local running clubs which organises a series of summer evening races each year.
  • Races are generally 5-6 miles and on the road, although increasingly the races include off-road paths.
  • Distances are approximate and courses are not measured, which simplifies race organisation.
  • All races are covered by uk athletics licenses.
  • All races are followed by a social ‘supper’ provided by the host club.
  • Races are open only to members of affiliated clubs, with no guest runners permitted.
  • The league competition is followed by a handicap race and presentation evening: there are league prizes for individuals, club teams, and the handicap race.

The Club is again subsidising the cost of entry for members so you only need to pay £5 to enter 5 races and your supper is included!