2016 Harrogate Harriers Club Championship

The 2016 Recipients:

Ladies Road Running Champion:  Sarah Gill
Ladies LV60 Winner: Yvonne Skelton
Ladies LV55 Winner:  [Vacant]
Ladies LV50 Winner:  Sarah Gill
Ladies LV45 Winner:  [Vacant]
Ladies LV40 Winner:  [Vacant]
Ladies LV35 Winner:  [Vacant]
Ladies 20 – 35 Winner: Jacki Artist

Mens Road Running Champion:  Andrew Grant
Mens V60 Winner:  Kevin Malachy-Murphy
Mens v55 Winner:  [Vacant]
Mens V50 Winner:  Adam Prentis
Mens V45 Winner:  Andy Grant
Mens V40 Winner: Andy Dobby
Mens V35 Winner:  Adam Newton
Mens 20 – 35 Winner:  Geoff Hirst

Other Categories:

Most Improved Lady:  Angela Gill
Most Improved Man:  Tom Borrowdale
Cross-Country Trophy:  Andrew Grant
Fell-Runner of the Year (L): Helen Price
Fell-Runner of the Year (M): Jason Millward
Ken Fozard Handicap Shield: Charles Casey



The championship table is updated on a regular basis by our Club Championship Administrator (Geoff Hirst), usually soon after a given race has taken place.

The 2016 Club Championship races are detailed below, we will be following a similar format to previous years, however there are some changes to the rules so please study them carefully.

Rules: As usual, you are required to do three Evening Leagues races, three 10Ks, two 10-milers and one half-marathon from the list below. If you choose to do more, then your best results will count.

Scoring: This year we will separate the scoring for Men’s and Ladies results. For example, the last (male) Harrier to finish will get one point, the first (male) Harrier to finish will get the number of points that equates to the number of male Harriers competing. e.g. 25 members run the Wetherby 10K, 13 of which are men. The first male Harrier to finish will get 13 points, the last 1 point. Similarly, the first lady will get 12 points, the last 1 point.

Unless indicated otherwise, the points will be awarded based on gun time, i.e. if you cross the line first, you get the points no matter what.  There are certain situations (such as the Great North Run and Leeds Abbey Dash) where the points will be awarded based on chip time, in these races it is quite possible for a runner to finish behind another club member but still run an appreciably faster time.  The affected races are marked [C] below.

Evening League:  We are not hosting an Evening League event this year, therefore will revert to the “standard” formula, so single points will be awarded.  Additionally, the Norman Smith Handicap will count as a qualifying race for the club championship but will not attract any points.

Additionally, if you do ANY RECOGNISED MARATHON worldwide you will be awarded 10 points, irrespective of how many club members take part. Note that this can only take place on a single occasion, running two marathons during the year will not generate 20 points!

Second Claim Members:  You must enter any given race as a Harrogate Harrier in order for it to count towards the Club Championship.  For example, if your first claim club is Leeds A.C. and you run a given race under those colours, it cannot count.  You MUST have entered as a Harrogate Harrier and wear the appropriate club vest.

If you change age categories during the year, your age on June 30th 2016 will be the one used to calculate results.

2016 Events

Harrogate & District Summer Race League

  • HDSRL Race #1 – Ilkley (Thursday 5th May @ 7:30pm)
  • HDSRL Race #2 – Nidd Valley (Tuesday 24th May @ 7:45pm)
  • HDSRL Race #3 – Swaledale (Tuesday 31st May @ 7:45pm)
  • HDSRL Race #4 – Thirsk (Thursday 16th June @ 7:45pm)
  • HDSRL Race #5 – Norman Smith Handicap, Ripon (Tuesday 28th June from 7:20pm onwards)

10k Races

  • Dewsbury  (7th February)
  • Fountains  (24th April)
  • Kirkbymoorside  (1st May)
  • Melmerby  (29th May)
  • Staveley Stampede (26th June) *NEW*
  • Burton Leonard  (17th July)
  • Wetherby  (4th September)
  • Leeds Abbey Dash  (6th November) [C]

Reserve Race: Staveley Stampede  (26th June)

10 Mile Races

  • Thirsk  (20th March)
  • Ripon  (15th May)
  • Otley  (8th June)
  • Burnsall  (20th August)
  • Guy Fawkes  (6th November)

Reserve Race:  Vale of York 10 (17th April)


  • Brass Monkey  (17th January)
  • Leeds Half  (8th May)
  • Vale of York Half  (11th September)
  • Great North Run  (11th September) [C]

Reserve Race:  Redcar Half Marathon (25th September)

Please note that the nominated reserve races will only be added to the club championship in the event of a race cancellation.  Note also that the Brass Monkey Half-Marathon will NOT be part of the 2017 Club Championship.