Harrogate Town Centre 10K 2012

Matt Hynes, N.Y.M.A.C.

Many thanks to all those that took part in the 2012 Harrogate 10K, once again we had a fantastic race and a two new course records!   The race was won overall by Matthew Hynes of North Yorkshire Moors A.C. in a blistering time of 30:45, taking 8 seconds off Stephen Hepples previous record – well done Matt!

There were plenty of other good performances on the day, Tarus Elly of Salford Harriers was second in 32:09, while Darren Bilton – a previous race winner and Harrogate favourite – was third in 32:39.  Good times also from Jack Simpson and Mike Burrett of Leeds City A.C. who both posted sub-33 minute times.



Charlene Thomas, Wakefield Harriers

The ladies race was won by Charlene Thomas of Wakefield Harriers in a equally speedy 34:48, taking 27 seconds off Helen Decker’s old record, so a big well done to her too!  Charlene has just been selected to run for Great Britain in the European Athletic Championships, so she is certainly riding high right now.

Her closest rivals in the ladies’ race was Sarah Cumber of Halifax Harriers (1st FV40) who placed second in 37:53 and Louise Brown of Scarborough A.C. who placed third in 38:02.  Well done to all!

Spot Prizes: The following competitors won free biomechanic assessment sessions from Pure Running:

Jenny Hutcheson – Harrogate Harriers
Shaun Imeson – York Postal Harriers
Paul Tomlinson – Unattached
Simon Greene- Northern Vets
Dillan Kitchen – Unattached

RACE PHOTOGRAPHY:  Coverage on the day was provided by Sports Sunday Photography, specialists in local amateur sports events.  All participants in the Harrogate Town Centre 10K are able to purchase high quality digital images of the event from one of the best sports photographers around, please visit their website at for more information.